Home > Uncategorized > #Hashtag Question?

#Hashtag Question?

It is unusual to blog about a microblogging question, but I couldn’t express it in 140 characters.

The hashtag concept on Twitter allows for PLN conversations to stay focused on a particular topic. For example, the #edtech has been a popular hashtag used by many educational technology professionals and teachers to discuss topics related on instructional technologies. I am a follower of such hashtags and enjoy exchanging dialogue with the other people in the PLN. I am also a fan of using such hashtags at conferences to further reflect and extend the conversation in real-time. For example, I followed the #dl09 hashtag for DevLearn 2009. I wasn’t present this year, but was able to get some resourceful information by simply following the conversation.

My question is related to Tweeting at a conference when using hashtags. My dilemma is that our conference is uniquely large, but also intimate to our charter school network. I want to implement a hashtag conversation for our conference, but want the dialogue to be closed to only participants in the network. I tried thinking of solutions such as asking all participants to protect their Tweets that week, but I find that too difficult to enforce. This is where I am stuck without a solution…Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. December 7, 2009 at 1:42 am

    I think I may have found the solution. http://www.grouptweet.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

