Home > Uncategorized > “The Boiling Frog” EdTech Metaphor

“The Boiling Frog” EdTech Metaphor

Wikipedia describes the boiling frog story based on “the premise that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death.”

Lately, I have been on a whirlwind tour preaching about educational technologies. During this chaos, I began to embrace the boiling frog metaphor whenever I evangelize about educational technology and how it can transform education. I certainly fall victim to living in my Twitter PLN bubble, where it is comfortable and easy to talk about how integrating technology can change student learning. However, when I speak, train, and give professional development seminars to my non-Twittering teachers, I sometimes run into the boiling frog syndrome (BFS). I am learning quickly to ease on my preaching, and focus on simple specific objectives that will ease my teachers into embracing technology infusion. One of my common BFS mistakes is when I sometimes catch myself speaking in absolutes. Moreover, I also overload them with information and overwhelm teachers with technologies that is beyond their realm of comfort. Unfortunately, there are those who simply rebuke technologies, and BFS is almost inevitable in those situations.

Evangelizing EdTech is a tricky game with our wide spectrum of teachers. It is fair to say we need to differentiate when we train teachers with technology. Although it can be difficult at times, moving forward, modeling your work and staying persistent will ultimately keep that frog in the edtech pot. No matter how slow the simmer…

What has been your boiling frog moments when talking about educational technologies?

  1. July 29, 2011 at 2:36 am

    Kind of a morbid analogy, but it fits so well! Slowly bring it in, show them how far they’ve come, and the teacher will realize how much they love the tool, without really noticing that they’ve changed! Thanks for the creative perspective!

    • July 29, 2011 at 2:47 am

      Yea, a little dramatic, but it makes sense in my pursuit of getting teachers on board. Thanks for the comment!

  1. January 30, 2010 at 1:36 pm
  2. July 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm
  3. May 30, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

