Home > Uncategorized > Students As Teachers

Students As Teachers

It has been a hit or miss at times when training teachers with using technology. I use different professional development strategies such as 1:1 training, peer-based learning, formal instruction, and virtual sessions. All have pros and cons when working with a diverse group of teachers.

I want to experiment with another method of reaching teachers by having my students become the technology trainers. I have an advanced group of students who work with me every morning on various technology projects. We have worked on many projects together using web 2.0 tools such as GoAnimate, MyStudiyo, and Wikispaces. Some of my students even provide tech support by going out to fix and troubleshoot computers for the school.

The students’ project is to select one staff member and show them how to use the zooming presentation editor tool called Prezi. I hope using students to model technology tools will motivate teachers in using Prezi and other web 2.0 applications. I am excited about this experiment and hoping for 100% success. I told them I will assess their project by checking if the teacher will actually use the software in his/her classroom. No pressure at all 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. February 14, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    What an awesome idea! Can’t wait to hear how this works out. I bet the students will feel good about being able to teach their teachers something! Hopefully, the teachers will receive it well and allow themselves to learn something from their students, too. Can you say, “collaboration”???

    Here’s another thought on how to evaluate the project – maybe a rubric of what you want the teacher to learn, and then have the teacher use the rubric to evaluate whether or not they feel the student met the objectives they were supposed to teach? Especially since there is no guarantee the teacher will go on to use Prezi, even if the student does a bang-up job of teaching the software.

  2. February 14, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks EdTechSandyK for the rubric idea! I will definitely use that because you are right, no matter how well the student presented Prezi, there are no guarantees from our teachers. Yea, I am always trying different strategies because it is quite difficult reaching my wide spectrum of teachers at times. I will let you know how it turns out!

  1. February 15, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

