Home > Uncategorized > My Role-Playing as a Technology Coordinator

My Role-Playing as a Technology Coordinator

Guest Blogger: @franze98 Chris Franzen is one of the valuable contributers to #EduIT and an “education minded” technology administrator.

My Role-Playing as a Technology Coordinator in Pre-k – 12 School District

I see three parts to the equation in interacting with teachers.  These parts all play equal importance for successful technology integration.  With my role as a sole Technology Coordinator, I have to be able to manage my time wisely to cover all the bases.

Trainer

Learning a new technology takes time whether that is new software or hardware.  Part of my job is to teach teachers how to use the technology provided for them in their classrooms.  Without my guidance some wouldn’t have the time or initiative to learn a new piece of technology.  In playing this trainer role, one has to be able to connect with the audience.  I try to do so at the personal level and then connect the “material” to terminology that they can understand.

Provider

Not only do I provide my staff with knowledge on how to use technology, but I also provide the equipment to them.  Sometimes this becomes the hardest part of my job as I must constrain purchases to a budget and thus not everyone gets what they would like to have.  It’s a fine tightrope to walk in being fair, but also considering how to get the most bang for the district’s buck.  Also taken into to consideration is how much use that item will get in that classroom.  In my district I have a wide token of users so some are towards the top of the technology knowledge pole while others are towards the bottom.  This is very comparable to a general student population and we don’t want to leave anyone behind.  The connection to the trainer role is very clear in a situation for those towards the bottom of the tech ability scale.  If the desire to learn more is there it is very important to push them to the next level. Otherwise their frustrations will easily mount and they could turn new technology into a negative.

Fixer

Whether its user error or a broken electronic part, it’s my responsibility as the technology department to fix it.  If it is broken it was probably used and thus now a teaching plan is out of whack and my teachers rely on me to get things up and running efficiently.  These day to day fixes also give great opportunities for personal interaction with the staff.  Striving to schedule fixes at a time least convenient to them is also a priority if possible.

Some key points that I try to remember for all of these parts is to keep an open mind.  Not everyone will see things eye to eye with you.  It’s those times of struggle where we can all shine in finding a compromise.    Thanks to Howard Chan, @socratech on twitter for inviting me to participate in this guest blog.

  1. Steve Ediger
    May 19, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    These are great, Chris. I add to this list “Finder”. As a ‘finder’, I am aware of what my teachers are, or might be, seeking, find it and share it with them. Perhaps you could say that it fits in with ‘trainer’ and ‘provider’. I think that it’s an important function. Notice that I did not call it ‘giver’ or ‘guru’; I am trying to find things in a way that teachers can relate to them instead of thrusting it upon them.

    • Chris Franzen
      May 20, 2010 at 6:10 pm

      Steve,
      I totally agree with the finder part and I would lump that in the Provider section. I mistakingly left the software side of that, but it does equate very closely to the hardware side as one would provide both tools for a teacher to do the job.

  1. May 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

