Home > Uncategorized > Dearest Oprah

Dearest Oprah

Guest Blog Entry: Theresa Nunez is a superstar teacher that I worked with a few years ago. I wanted to share her thoughtful post in response to Oprah’s show this past week.

Teaching has become a blame game.  I am a very passionate teacher in a Title I school (low income) in California.  There is one unanimous fact about our school – great teachers.  Our test scores may not rank at the very top of the API rankings but often times Title I teachers cannot be all about the test scores.  WE have to teach to the CHILD. Sometimes I’ve had to teach children how to believe in themselves.  Sometimes I’ve had to teach children that respect is earned. Sometimes I’ve had to teach a child how to speak English. (I’m a 6th grade teacher) Sometimes I’ve had to teach children how to have a soul.  This will never translate to a test score.  Nor, do I ever want it to.  I know the lessons taught within the four walls in my class may not hit children until they are older. I focus on test scores and know how important that they are but it should not be a determining factor in saying a school is “failing our children.”  I’ve been saying this for years, I challenge anyone to come to our schools, sit in our classrooms, and explain exactly how we are failing these children.  We believe in them, but why don’t you believe in us?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 25, 2010 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

