Home > Uncategorized > IE9 Browser Review

IE9 Browser Review

With the rise of Google Chrome, Apple rival Safari and steady browser alternative Firefox, you would have thought Explorer would be fourth on the list. So it still baffles me when I hear Internet Explorer still controls 60% of the browser market, but I have to keep in mind that enterprise networks are still Microsoft heavy. Personally, I rarely use Explorer and I rather prefer Chrome and Firefox as my go to browsers. But when I heard IE9 was coming out today, I had to give it a try. Below are some high/low lights from my first drive on IE9.

  • #fail It forced a restart on my computer after installation
  • First impression: Google Chrome knockoff…
  • All the cumbersome buttons have been removed leaving it lighter from a user interface
  • The tabs are smaller and easier to navigate on the tool bar
  • 2 new enhancements: HTML5 support & a faster new JavaScript engine called Chakra
  • You can now pin a shortcut to a website on the taskbar…Like!
  • Searching feature is similar to Google Chrome
  • Haven’t tested the security features, but IE9 touts stronger security capability with native scanning of active downloads for malware and spyware.

Overall, I am impressed with the upgrade of Explorer because of the simpler, faster and lighter new version of browsing. However, I don’t plan on switching from Chrome and Firefox anytime soon. In true Microsoft form, they develop products after a competitor forces them to change. From Windows 7 Phone to Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft seems to be always playing catch up with the Apples and Googles of the world.

  1. March 20, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    “Microsoft seems to be always playing catch up with the Apples and Googles of the world.”

    As someone who spent three years getting certified in the Microsoft world of technologies I became a little discouraged at the state of what it meant to be a Microsoft Certified Systems Admin. Since then I’ve been mixing myself with learning programming and wetting my feet in the opensource world of Linux and such but for all the talk of taking over the desktop (which I have been following for three years now) it seems they’re is just as much hypocrasy and double speak in that side of the fence. Not to mention the desktop status with Linux is becoming a war between the developers and users. I missed the proprietary world at times because at least they have motivation to move things forward and if not they stand to lose more then an argument on numerous mailing lists In other words at least their is someone that has to answer for the complete product, and that seems to be so far the only motivating factor to truly move things in the right direction. I know a little off topic but I figured I’d add my two cents.

    Joe

  2. Ellis
    March 22, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Not only do they play catchup, but they don’t even support their own products. In this case that means leaving XP users behind. Of course, MS wants people to upgrade to Windows 7, but there are still many millions of computers happiliy running the older OS and their owners aren’t eager to spend more money on a Microsoft product; at least not until it is time to buy the next computer.

    Microsoft’s biggest problem has always been, apart from mostly mediocre products, that they suck — their treatment of users is always arrogant and dismissive.

    I have no intention of upgrading to IE9, since 99+% of my browsing needs are met with Firefox (Chrome is OK and seems better than IE, but it hasn’t given me a reason to switch from Firefox). When I buy another computer, if it’s a PC with Windows 7 (or 8 or whatever) and the current generation of Internet Explorer, the first thing I will do is download Firefox and Chrome. The second thing will be to forget Internet Explorer exists.

  3. March 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I have been a little on the fence about how I felt about “supporting” a product that is now going on 11 years old. Imagine an automaker who was constantly critisized because their product worked so well that people were angry that the automaker would be so arrogant as to need to discontinue support for an old product at some point. I know there are quite a few people still using XP but for people with newer computers it is very difficult to find hardware drivers for newer computers. The industry has moved on and will continue to do so, especially an industry that will only survive by tech companies building bigger, better, and glitzier things. I concur at times the changes are not for the better but there is no way to support software in to the future without having a clear point where you say, PCs and the industry has moved on if you chose not to, then you chose the alternative. Maybe that means that financially as a business or such that moving to a new supported OS isn’t needed but for many businesses they refresh their hardware avery few years anyway. When I was in college 6 years ago there were people who were argueing the same point for Windows 98 so. I guess my point is a business has to draw the line somewhere, and I feel as though Microsoft has in good faith even extended Xp’s life line longer then they intended to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

